When you think you know…

After 9 years of marriage, you begin to see patterns. You can usually predict what your spouse is going to do and what kind of gifts they give. We don’t usually exchange holiday gifts, and the last gift I was given was a remote control helicopter. Fun? Yes, but not what I would have picked out for myself.

Today Scott out did himself. He has been saying for days that he has a surprise coming in the mail for me. I had trouble thinking what it could be. He made a big deal about hoping the company was discrete, and how he made sure it had my name on it. I admit he had me quite scared.

Then today a box came from Amazon.com. Scott, who was working from home, ran upstairs and couldn’t wait for me to open it. I opened it and I have to admit I was stunned.

Barbara Walker’s treasury of knitting patterns

He bought me knitting books! And not just any books, but the ones I have been longing for and restraining myself until after the holidays: Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Patterns! THE go to guide for stitch patterns. Just flipping through them I see endless possibilities. This will be the beginning of full on design for me. I can’t wait, and Christmas gift planning is already being adjusted to incorporate some patterns from these books.

He sure teases me about knitting, but wants to see me go as far as I can with it. What a guy! With the pressure he’s under from work, I don’t know how he has time to notice me, but I sure do appreciate it.

Just goes to show that when you think you know, you’re most likely to be surprised.

One response to “When you think you know…

  1. Best. Present. Ever. Boy, has he score brownie points or what?!

Leave a Reply

